The beginning of a novel?

Hey guys, just thought I’d share something I’ve been working on today. It’s the beginning of the idea of a concept (lol) for a novel I hope to one day publish. I know some of you are more talented than me when it comes to this and I’d love some feedback.

I woke up from the same sound that had roused me for the past two months. The noise of the people working the morning shift scraping and shoveling the snow from the nearby gates. Occasionally one of them would hit the chain link fence and let off a metallic rattle. Not exactly a pleasant alarm clock but it did its job. “Hey Stan, wake up and let’s get moving I’m freezing my fucking ass off” Cooper bellowed. “I’m already up, give me a few seconds.” I replied and zipped open my sleeping bag. The stale freezing air of the tent hit me instantly, it had been unusually cold lately and not getting any warmer. I fumbled around for my clothes, the aviator jacket Cooper gave me, the pants from home I’d padded with newspapers and my beat-up sneakers. I zipped open the tent, stepped outside and looked at Cooper. As per usual he was wearing his old army jacket, two sets of jeans and a giant pair of homemade boots. “Took you long enough dipshit, if we move out now we’ll barely make it in time.”

2 thoughts on “The beginning of a novel?

Leave a Reply

