Poetry: The Cold Sun

reykvHere in Iceland the summers are cold and that has always made me think of summertime as a period of brightness rather than heat. Every time I go to foreign countries in the summertime I always feel so strange walking outside without a jacket on and that made me write this poem.

A sun that radiates no heat,
shines brightly in the North.
From Summers joys a country cheats,
while it travels back and forth.

Give me instead Winters darkness,
free from sunshine’s bright effect.
I find more beauty in cold starkness,
than a warm summer I can’t expect.

 

One thought on “Poetry: The Cold Sun

Leave a Reply

